Upgrading to later version of Python

I need Python 3.9 or higher. The server I launch is 3.8 I ran

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get install python3.11

But still python3 --version shill shows 3.8. And my code did not run.

ValidationError: 1 validation error for PythonAstREPLTool
root
This tool relies on Python 3.9 or higher (as it uses new functionality in the ast module, you have Python version: 3.8.10 (default, May 26 2023, 14:05:08)
[GCC 9.4.0] (type=value_error)

This article should give you everything you need:
https://towardsdatascience.com/installing-multiple-alternative-versions-of-python-on-ubuntu-20-04-237be5177474

Typically, with python projects, you run your project in a virtual environment in which you can specify which interpreter you will use. That is a little bit longer discussion. The article above should get you rolling.

Thanks @addavox. Appreciate this. I am new to python environment.

I tried these and managed to installed another version on python. How do I get my jupyter notebook to use this version when I click on the launch link at the instance panel. The following sys.version still show that Jupyter notebook is linked to the 3.8 (although on jupyter terminal it shows 3.11).

I also create a new sudo user and created another env. And installed jupyter lab there. When I tunnel in to that, it still launch the 3.8 version.

What you’re looking for is doable in the Web JupyterLab that Lambda sets up for you.

Here is a quick demonstration:

Step1: Setting up a normal instance, nothing special. 1x_A10 if curious, but not important for this demonstration:

Step2: Installing Python3.11 and setting up our VirtualEnv

After either SSH’ing in or using the Terminal sessions from the JupyerLab:

# install Python 3.11 to our system
sudo apt update
sudo apt install python3.11 python3.11-venv

now let’s set up the Virtual Environment and activate it normally:

# make the venv
python3.11 -m venv mikesVenv
# activate